School Logo

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At Stoke Damerel we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. Within this curriculum there are seven areas of learning. In order to fully participate and enjoy learning, children need the social skills and language to learn with others. The prime areas are of learning are:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


With these foundations in place, children are ready to explore and learn from the world around them. We create a rich and stimulating environment both inside and outside the classroom. This encourages children to take risks and immerse themselves in real and imaginary worlds linked to stimulating and engaging topics. 


The specific areas of learning in the Early Years Curriculum are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Themes are carefully chosen to reflect the children’s interests and expand their horizons whilst developing both the prime and specific areas of learning.   By making learning fun, our pupils are excited about their writing, resilient in their problem-solving and motivated to share their creativity. 


You can see an example of the topics children learn through by looking at the curriculum outline below. This may change in response to the interests of the children. 


To find out more about each area of learning, you can read Development Matters